Taking my own advice ….thyroid and adrenal health

bigstock-Exhausted-Businesswoman-40332463

 

I’m good at giving advice. I love to help people find their way back to feeling good. Few things make me happier than good feedback from clients and the feeling that I have been able to help them achieve something they thought they couldn’t. Now I’m having to try to be this for myself ….

I can tell you all about the things that will nurture your body and spirit back to health – changed diets, high density nutrition, supplements, herbal medicine, relaxation and stress management techniques, finding something fun that you love doing. I’ve got all the theories !

Recently, after a prolonged period of stress and caring for everyone but myself (most Mum’s will relate to that one !) I found myself in the midst of a thyroid/adrenal storm. I have had issues with hypothyroidism for a number of years but have managed them well and, until recently, felt pretty good about how things were progressing.

A few weeks ago I found myself completely exhausted and depleted, unable to manage my normal life and feeling bewildered by it all. Feeling flat, fatigued and gaining weight for no apparent reason rang all my thyroid bells. After some soul searching, pathology testing and getting fed up with feeling crappy I made some changes which are starting to kick in and help me back to my old self.

Like a bolt from the blue the world had conspired to have me take heed of some of my own advice. I’ve had to do those things that I have encouraged so many others to do – rest, eat really well, take care of myself, be a bit kinder and less harsh in my self judgement, let other people help me. It’s been TOUGH ! Way TOUGH ! It’s been frustrating, humbling and difficult – and shown me just how loved I am.

2

I have struggled with feeling that I will be judged as being not quite up to scratch. A naturopath who is feeling pretty poorly and has had a number of weeks away from work is not a great advertisement. Or is it ??? Somehow, I am starting to realise that there is value in this experience and in taking some of my own advice. I have had to do what I routinely ask of my clients. I am learning to say no to things that don’t support me or that will take more of a toll than I can afford at the moment. I am realising that in order to look after your health and wellbeing, especially when things reach a kind of crisis point, it takes a certain amount of courage, humility and willingness to be vulnerable. These are all admirable qualities although sometimes hard to embrace when it can feel like weakness.

So here I am. On the road to recovery but not quite there yet. Still trying to balance my need to take care of myself with my need to ‘get stuff done’.

So what has changed ? I’m resting a lot. My diet is gluten free and nutrient dense – smoothies are full of fresh fruit and veg, raw cacao and maca powder. I’ve slightly increased my healthy carbs (so necessary for hypothyroidism), I’ve upped my healthy fats like avocado and coconut oil and I’m trying to listen to my body for what I need to eat. So many of us hypothyroid folk live on such spartan diets in an attempt to keep the weight off – its easy to find yourself nutrient deficient if you’re not careful. I’ve also implemented a herbal medicine and nutrient supplement regime to address the drivers and manage the symptoms. I’ve also finally started asking for help when I need it. If you ask my gorgeous husband he will tell you that this is MASSIVE for me ! Things are starting to look up….

Have a look at this list of symptoms and see if they ring bells for you… if you need some help recovering I am your gal. I’ve walked the walk and talked the talk. Been there, done that.

Signs of adrenal / thyroid issues include :

Morning fatigue, trouble waking up, waking feeling unrested
Low mood/ low motivation/ racing thoughts / anxiety
Muscle weakness
Poor focus and concentration
Bone loss
Lowered libido
Inflammation
Increased allergies or new allergy symptoms  – food or environmental
Difficulty sleeping – often feeling exhausted during the day or afternoon but then unable to get to sleep. Often have a more wakeful period late at night.
Irritability, intolerance and mood changes
General tiredness
Cravings for sugar
Hair loss
Weight gain
Muscle tension and pain
Feeling overwhelmed/ unable to cope
Low blood pressure – especially dizziness or lightheadedness when standing up.
Intolerance/jumpiness with loud noises or bright lights
Shortness of breath with minimal exertion
Iron deficiency

2 thoughts on “Taking my own advice ….thyroid and adrenal health

  1. africanaussie February 3, 2016 / 1:31 am

    I hope you are on the mend already – It sounds like you are. Self nurturing is often ignored and yet it should be something we make time for.

    • NaturoCath Naturopathy February 3, 2016 / 5:50 am

      Thanks so much for your message. Yes, I am on the mend slowly but surely. Taking care of ourselves is so important and something I’m getting better at doing ! Hope you are well and happy.

Leave a Reply

