The CSIRO Survey – How do you rate ?

veges

The CSIRO recently conducted a survey on the dietary habits of 12,000 people. The results are not great. Sadly the survey had to specify that hot chips are not counted as a serve of vegetables. Only 1 in 20 respondents was found to eat a healthy amount of vegetables.

The average score for most respondents was around 50 – 60/100. I took the test and held my breath as I waited for my results. There were a few questions about eating meat and animal based products which I thought may (in their eyes) drop my score. I feel good about how and what I eat and that was reflected in my score of 86/100.

I was not really all that surprised by the findings of the CSIRO survey. I see people all the time who think their diet is good but on questioning is actually lacking in some basic sources of protein, healthy fats, vegetables and fruit.
Fruit and vegetables are incredibly important for so many body functions. They supply nutrients, fibre and a healthy source of carbohydrate.

If you’re game take the test here –  https://my.totalwellbeingdiet.com/healthy-diet-score

I find it particularly hard when this involves babies and children. Often parents and carers are well meaning and doing their best with what they have but just a little bit of basic diet information goes a long way towards growing healthy kids.  Let’s just set the record straight once and for all – potato chips, hash browns, jelly fruit cups, fruit drinks, pop tarts etc DO NOT count as servings of fruit and veg. By the same token chicken nuggets, processed meats, sausage rolls, fish fingers DO NOT count as healthy proteins. White bread, cakes, biscuits, muesli bars DO NOT count as good sources of carbohydrate.

I hear all the time “But this is what my child eats – if I don’t give them this they wont eat anything”. I promise you that if you don’t have these things in your home and explain to your children why you’re not going to buy them anymore they will find other better things to eat. There may be a few transition grumbles but ultimately they will thank you for it.

There are lots of great alternatives to these ‘non foods’ that I am sure you and your children will grow to love. They will be healthier, happier, a good weight and likely to live longer  –   isn’t that what we all want for our children and ourselves ?

Take a stroll through my recipes for some inspiration and get your kids involved in the cooking process. If they are cooking too they are much more likely to try what you have made.

Good luck and happy eating !

One thought on “The CSIRO Survey – How do you rate ?

Leave a Reply

