Lemon Coconut Protein Balls … a variation on a well loved theme …

lemon ball

There are lots of lemons on our tree at the moment so I thought it was time to start using them. Like everyone I know at the moment, I have a bit of a cold and have been drinking lots of honey and lemon tea and some of these little happy snacks should go very nicely with that. Can’t beat tea, a yummy snack and a good book in bed when you’re feeing a bit poorly.

Lots of people have told me that they love the protein balls recipe  (https://naturocath.wordpress.com/2014/08/18/how-to-eat-protein-balls-and-still-be-able-to-pay-your-mortgage/) and the hippy lamingtonshttps://naturocath.wordpress.com/author/naturocath/) so I thought I’d share a variation on this theme.

I made a batch of these this afternoon and they are happily chillin’ in the fridge for later on when the urge takes me.

Lemon Coconut Protein Balls 

2 cups raw cashews
1 1/2 cups desiccated coconut ( I toasted mine in a pan to make it super yummy but untoasted is ok )
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 tablespoons coconut oil , soft but not melted
Juice and rind of 2 lemons, limes or one of each
2 tablespoons vanilla protein powder

Extra 3/4 cup coconut for rolling – I toasted this too. Go on, do it, it tastes so much better !

Place cashews in a bowl and pour over enough boiling water to cover. Leave for at least 30 mins.

Place drained cashews and all other ingredients into a food processor and blend until combined and mostly smooth but not quite like a nut butter. Roll heaped teaspoons of this mixture into balls and roll in toasted coconut.

Chill in the fridge.

NB. Depending on the juiciness of your lemons you may need to adjust the amount of coconut or liquid you use but this is a very forgiving recipe so don’t get too worried about being precise.

3 thoughts on “Lemon Coconut Protein Balls … a variation on a well loved theme …

  1. stevelearphotography April 12, 2015 / 10:30 am

    Sounds awesome. I will definitely try this one. I forgot to tell you I made a batch of the date chocolate slice. Amazing! I’ll let you know how they turn out.

    Steve

    Steve Lear

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • NaturoCath Naturopathy April 13, 2015 / 9:58 pm

      Good on you Steve. I love that slice too – maybe a bit more than is good for me !

Leave a Reply

