Keeping the faith …

hands gen

It’s easy to feel jaded sometimes. Christmas consumerism runs rampant, the shops are crazed with glitz and spending, everyone is feeling the effects of a long year and the parties just keep on coming.

I must admit that I have been starting to feel pretty tired and a bit overwhelmed by lots of stuff. The idea of a couple of weeks of down time appeals to me in a big way. I’m looking forward to books, swims, a road trip with my husband and dear friend Melissa, time with my family, trips to the library, helping my daughter nest into her new home, gardening and getting to know my new baby chickens Dorothy and Helen.

Life can feel very tiring sometimes so it’s good to know that just when you need it something comes along to keep you going…..

The last 48 hours have been a bit of a heart lifter. We spent a lovely afternoon yesterday celebrating the first birthday of our ‘yummy enough to eat’ niece. Watching her crawl around on my daughters lap with her little wobbly legs and gummy grin made me smile from ear to ear. A gorgeous woman at the party said she had bought a few things with her to donate to the charities and organisations that my daughter and I collect for … an amazing boot load of lovely clothes and toiletries filled my car. Then came an offer of a cot and mattress which will come in handy for some mum’s we work with who are feeling the effects of unemployment and limited opportunities.

This morning a dear friend Lauren offered up a Play Station on FB, “yes please” I said for a family I had in mind. I just got a message from Lauren saying that she’d picked up some extra presents for the kids and had even wrapped something up for the Mum.

These wonderful acts of kindness and generosity fill me with hope and help me keep the faith.

It’s easy to feel overwhelmed by harsh governments, climate change, greed, consumerism, violence … but these kind offerings are the antidote we need to keep faith and to continue to believe that things will get better…. one small act at a time.

4 thoughts on “Keeping the faith …

  1. africanaussie December 15, 2014 / 3:25 am

    What a lovely story about the true spirit of christmas.

  2. Nicola December 15, 2014 / 9:04 am

    Thanks for reminding us what giving is actually all about. If you haven’t come across it already, you should check out freecycle in your area. Merry Christmas

    • NaturoCath Naturopathy December 15, 2014 / 9:11 am

      I will definitely do that. Thanks for the tip. Merry Christmas to you too and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

