Birthday boy…..

soul-r-vegan-cafe

 

Today is my son’s birthday. He is 17. He did his driving test this morning and now my youngest child is driving independently and I am feeling equal measures of delight for him and wistfulness for me. When I think back to this time all those years ago when I first held him in my arms I could never have imagined him as he is now. He is so much more than I could have ever hoped for …. laugh out loud funny, smart, kind, brave, loyal, loving, compassionate. How did I get so lucky ?

Where we live there’s no public transport. Here on the top of our lovely mountain it can be kind of limiting if you don’t have wheels of your own. For my two daughters getting their licence was a huge rite of passage, a door opening to a world of their own making, no more getting lifts, they could skedaddle when and where they liked. I am so happy for Simon that his turn has come.

He is out at the moment and we have pimped up the house with fairy lights, candles and birthday banners for his return.

I cannot tell you how much I love this boy of mine. I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

We are getting ready for a yummy birthday dinner and a vegan tiramisu (tastes decadent but is so much better for you than the usual version) for celebrating….. recipes to follow but right now I’m heading for the kitchen in honour of his wonderful presence on this earth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

