Physician health thy self …. Labrynthitis

 

take care

 

People often assume that when you work in health you don’t get sick…. not true !

This last week has been a huge challenge for me. I got a cold a couple of weeks ago and, because I’m good at giving other people herbs and tips to heal themselves but not so good at doing it for myself, what started as a cold ended up as viral labrynthitis.

Scary name huh ? Sounds like something from the middle ages but it’s actually more likely to be middle ear.

I woke up at 3am with the room spinning and feeling like I had downed a bottle of tequila although there was no preceding party (and I don’t drink alcohol so that rules the slammers out).

I felt utterly nauseas and no matter how gently I moved my head the room continue to whirl and spin and it stayed that way for a number of days. I lost my sense of depth perception so putting one foot in front of the other became a major achievement. It was, without a doubt, one of the most unpleasant things I have experienced and although I am not fully recovered I can stand up now and that’s a big improvement.

All the things I do through the day without really thinking about it – brushing my teeth, having a shower, walking to the letter box, cooking, gardening, reading – were suddenly beyond me and I have to say that I am really looking forward to getting back to some normality and independence.

It has reminded me once again to be grateful for the incredible gift we are given when we are born with good health. I am careful with my health – eat well, no smoking or drinking alcohol etc – but am pondering now how precarious wellness can be when you’re not paying attention.

There are lots of things that can impact our health – genetics, stress, disadvantage, what we are taught about wellness, how we eat and exercise, our attitude, acquired illnesses or injuries to name a few. I guess the take home message is “Be grateful for your body and health and treat it with respect”.

My husband, who volunteers for the Rural Fire Service was just called out to help at an accident involving a young girl who crashed her car into a tree. The emergency services are there right now trying to cut her out of the wreck of her car. I feel utterly heartbroken for what she must be going through right now.

I bet when she got up this morning she didn’t even imagine this could be in her realm of possibility. None of us do. So today I am going to be grateful that I am slowly but surely on the mend and make good choices that help my body heal so I can get back to living my life.

I hope this finds you well and happy and looking after yourself.

 

 

Leave a Reply

