Losing the weight and gaining the cookbook…

eat

I’ve been kind of silent for a while now and I’m sorry if you have missed your doses of NaturoCath stuff.

I have been focusing on things closer to home and heart and as a result I have been able to do some things which have felt out of my reach for a while now.

It’s a simple story of placing your attention where it really needs to be and taking the importance away from things that don’t really deserve or warrant it.

Last November I decided that I needed an overhaul. I was feeling overwhelmed, overweight and over it all. I got my game face on and made some big changes to my diet and reworked my relationship with food.  In doing so I not only improved my health but I also got some sense of control back with a  side order of confidence. It’s taken some doing and it’s taken a big dose of getting real with myself. It’s all been worth it – even when I had to say no to gelato – Oh the unfairness of it all !

Food has always been an emotional thing for me. I remember as a little girl feeling hugely loved whenever my grandmother would give me biscuits that she had made. My parents got divorced when I was a young teenager I starved myself for a while in an attempt to wrest some control over an out of my control situation. As a young mother I lovingly made organic pureed vegetables and would only accept beautiful nutritious food for my babies while I existed on toast and rushed cups of cold tea. As a woman in my 40’s with some pretty stressful things going on in my life I resorted to what I knew – tea and biscuits for comfort.

I don’t want to seem like I have had an unusually troubled relationship with food. I think its actually a very common way to behave and it is certainly prevalent in the clients I see in my clinic. I have knowledge and resources, access to beautiful fresh food and home grown vegetables and a big interest in cooking. It seems insane even to me that my eating was amiss. As a naturopath I think people have a view that you are somehow perfect in your eating habits existing on goji berries and kale smoothies. I do eat well, I enjoy eating things that are good for me, I love picking food from my garden and I really like cooking – I was simply eating way too much for my age and level of exercise. I was also kidding myself about what was an acceptable and healthy amount of sugar and bread even when that was appearing as delicious fruit and crusty loaves from the farmers market.

Since November I have lost 23 kilograms and I feel so much better for it. When you think about it I was carrying around a small child or a big bag of chicken food with me 24 hours a day. No wonder I feel better. I feel like myself again. I’m happy to wear skinny jeans. I have lowered my cholesterol back to a healthy level ( I have a history of high cholesterol in my family), I feel in control of what I eat and I feel like I am more respectful of my body and myself. I even bought myself a whole heap of new clothes and cut my hair off.

Those horrible sneaking thoughts have gone – you know the ones – I feel embarrassed by the way I look, I’ll stand at the back behind everyone whenever someone wants to take a photo, the shreds of my self confidence are going to wither and die if I have to buy new jeans/swimmers, I feel like I’m trapped in a body I don’t recognise, my butt has recently been given it’s own postcode, how can I be the one telling people how to get healthy when I’m not really feeling it myself ?

I’ve been the very thin girl and I’ve been the chubby girl. I am now very happy to be the healthy girl.

Anyway, I don’t want this to sound like one of those awful ‘my weight loss journey ‘stories. I simply wanted to say that I feel so much better now and I am keen to keep it going. I have also had the added bonus of discovering a new cookbook called ‘Oh She Glows’ by Angela Liddon which has delighted and inspired me and I hope you can get yourself a copy and revel in all the glorious vegan healthiness of it. The vege burgers, brownies and cashew cream recipes are becoming firm favourites at my house. Check out the website to see if it’s the kind of thing you’re into.

website  :    http://ohsheglows.com

osg

I hope you find the inspiration and determination to find your way back to feeling good in your skin.

One thought on “Losing the weight and gaining the cookbook…

  1. Natalie July 16, 2014 / 10:29 am

    great inspiration;-)

Leave a Reply

