Getting up off the mat … and coconut bread..

Image

Most of you should be able to tell from previous posts that I am ever so slightly obsessed with my feathery chicken friends. Some of you may be aware that last week two of my beautiful girls, Betty and Honey, who I had raised from week old chicks,  were killed by a dog that lives down the road from us. Needless to say I was heartbroken and then angry in equal parts.

I decided that I would try to minimise the potential hurt of another dog attack and would just stick with my two remaining girls. Minxy and Ginger were just going to have to manage as a duo and I would stand guard to try to keep them safe from other people’s uncontrolled pets.

So that lasted a couple of days until my true self revealed herself and I was off to the farm supplies to emancipate two more girls who looked like they could definitely do with an accommodation upgrade. Little did they know of the chicken nirvana they had landed in.

Welcome Nina and Lizzie. I am hoping that with some serious security vigilance and a little bit of luck they may just live a long and happy life scratching around and getting more cuddles than they probably really want.

I know that there’s a lot of terrible stuff going on in the world and the death of two chickens probably doesn’t even register on many a radar but to me they were special. Just because there is big stuff happening doesn’t make the smaller stuff any less real. We can deny ourselves the right to feel things because they don’t measure up in the big scheme of things or we can be true to ourselves. I wept sad, sad tears for the awful violent deaths of my girls. I raged at people’s irresponsibility. I got really mad at the man who owns the dog and I railed at the injustice of it all. And then, I got up off the mat.

Sometimes you just need to have a good weep and feel the sadness of it all so you can move on to a more hopeful state of mind.

In the scale of tragedies this is small potatoes. I have lived through a few of those big tragedies that so many of us do and I am fully aware of perspective. The best we can do sometimes is feel the feelings, make some comfort food and get up off the mat.

So here’s to Betty and Honey, and to Lizzie and Nina. Comfort food, NaturoCath style ..

Coconut Bread 

1 3/4 cups dessicated coconut
2 cups coconut milk
1 cup caster sugar
1 egg
2 teaspoons vanilla
1 2/3 cups self raising flour

Combine coconut and coconut milk in bowl and allow to stand for 30minutes.
Add all other ingredients and mix until just combined.

Bake in a loaf pan lined with baking paper for 1 hour at 170 degrees.

That’s it. Easy as pie, or coconut bread as the case may be.

When cool, slice and toast and serve with a cup of rooibos tea in your favourite cup. Sit in the sun and feel grateful  xxx

One thought on “Getting up off the mat … and coconut bread..

  1. taospirulina May 26, 2013 / 12:50 am

    Your post is really attractive! I think I will try to do it for myself!

Leave a Reply

