Finding your self in the perfect moment … Kofta recipe

kofta

I’m in the kitchen cooking with my 20 year old food processor and loving the fact that I used to make baby food with it. It’s employed making food for those same babies who are now at university. It’s one of those crisp days where the sun is shining but it’s cold enough to be making hearty pies for dinner.

Conor Oberst is playing Milk Thistle in the background and I just realised that I had somehow landed in the perfect moment. Life can be a challenge sometimes – it’s great to find myself, completely unplanned, in a moment of true contentment.

Pots are bubbling away on the stove with dinners on their way to the freezer for days when my girls are swamped by university. I’m feeling those happy, loving feelings when you are making sure that the ones you love are fed well and healthily.

I could have rushed through this afternoon not seeing the purity of the moment but I’m feeling so grateful that didn’t happen. Sometimes it’s just stopping long enough to see the loveliness of it all.

So here is my latest recipe offering – VEGETABLE KOFTAS WITH TOMATO SAUCE – thanks to the Hare Krishnas for the inspiration. They are the go to guys for us vegos and vegans when we hit the festivals and markets.

I hope you are noticing the perfect moments too…

2 cups each of grated cauliflower and cabbage – ( I do this in the food processor )
1 1/2 cups of spelt flour (or you can use wholemeal plain flour)
1 tsp salt
1/2 teaspoon of hing ( or 1 clove crushed garlic if you don’t have hing powder)
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp turmeric

Place all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Leave mix to sit for about 30 minutes till it’s sticky.
Roll into small balls. Place on a lined baking tray and drizzle with olive oil. Bake until golden in a moderate oven.

Tomato sauce –
2 tins diced tomatoes
1 clove crushed garlic
1 teaspoon each of brown sugar and salt

Simmer all ingredients for 10 mins

Leave a Reply

