Being open to possibilities ….

Image

I was talking to my daughter this morning about the prospect of change and what it could mean for her. Maybe something new to study, perhaps a job in a different area, maybe some time for things other than university. It’s full of possibility and a bit exciting when you think about what could be.

I have had the great good fortune of being able to do what I love for quite a while now. It wasn’t always the case and of course we must adapt to what’s necessary sometimes, but don’t you think it’s worth considering what could be for you if you chose something different ? I have spent the last 20 years or so being with my children and it’s been a roller coaster ride of wonder that I would never swap for all the tea in China. Truth be told, it’s been the making of me and I will always be enormously grateful that they came to me.

The trio of lovelies are getting bigger now and the ways they need me are different. I have space to consider the sort of work that makes me feel fulfilled and allows me to offer my skills to their best advantage. I think I have found it. Yipee !

Apart from seeing clients in my NaturoCath mode I am now also working one day a week at a women’s and girl’s health centre in an area which is sadly rife with domestic violence, poverty, drug and alcohol issues. It also has a wealth of cultures and huge refugee population so I am on a steep learning curve in terms of cultural sensitivity. I am learning just how little I know !

I was a little worried about whether I would be able to help these women given that I have so little experience with these issues. I was worried that I would feel overwhelmed by the sadness and difficulties of their lives. I needn’t have worried. Sure, there are sad stories and women whose lives are beyond anything I can imagine surviving but there are also incredible stories of hope, resilience and great feats of mother love.

It brings to mind my daughters Amnesty International t-shirt which shows a rickety boat full of desperate people and says “How far would you go for your family?”. Now that I have met some of these women who have travelled far from their homes fleeing war and oppression I have a new respect. They are scrambling together a life, a community and a hope that they can now live peacefully and perhaps be able to provide something more for their children. What shines out from them, and what astounds me, is that they are incredibly grateful for this chance at a new life and their positivity in downright humbling.

So, I guess I am saying that it’s worth taking a chance. Try something new. You just never know where it may lead you. Be as brave as you can. And wish me luck…. this week I am going to the local girls high school to talk about sexually transmitted infections. I never thought I’d be doing that when I was studying to be a naturopath. Oh well, here goes…..

One thought on “Being open to possibilities ….

  1. Jeanette March 25, 2013 / 7:44 am

    Good on you – Cheers – M & J !!!

Leave a Reply

