Making time for what’s important….

 

I was listening to the radio this morning and caught the end of piece about a man who had been telling himself for the last few years that his high stress job meant that he had no time for exercise or eating well. He had been living the lie that It wasn’t his fault, it was his job and the demands of a young family.

At age 34 he keeled over at a work function and was rushed to the hospital with a 70% blockage to two main passages of his heart. A double bypass, some time to think and a good dose of reality later he has decided that maybe time is a bit more fluid than he thought and that perhaps it would be a good idea to make the most of his life and stick around for his kids.

He eventually went back to his job but realised that it wasn’t the one and only priority of his life. He now walks to work, plays with his kids and eats real food. Problem solved. Not too hard was it.

I often hear people talk about not having enough time to exercise or eat well. The hard truth is that if you don’t make your health a priority in your life you will soon have lots of time dealing with disease or death. It’s all about time and how you want to spend it.

I completely get that life can get hectic. There are weeks when I may only get to the gym twice, when we might eat quick “pull together’ meals more often than usual and simply when you get to that point when you feel a bit world weary. That’s ok, we all have those times. It’s when that is your normal life that you need to check in with yourself.

Do you find yourself getting take away most weeks? Does the idea of tonights dinner fill you with dread ? Has cooking and eating become a necessary chore ? Can you remember the last time you broke a sweat ? Do you drink alcohol or coffee every week or day ?

Because I understand the demands on our time I try to make the recipes and meal ideas on this blog quick, nutritious and tasty. There are very few recipes here that take more than 20 minutes to pull together. Without exception they are yummy and good for you – there are even cup cakes !!!

I am not trying to lecture you here nor do I claim to have all the answers or that I live a perfect life. I am not trying to take the fun out of things. I am a sucker for a biscuit with my cup of tea. I love nothing more than a movie on the couch BUT I do go to the gym, even though I don’t particularly like it. What I do like is the fact that it makes me feel good, my head is in a better space and I know that I am doing the right thing by my body.

I do grow as much of our food as I can. I do accept that food is our medicine and that most disease can be prevented if we only thought about things before we put them in our mouth.

When I see children drinking Coke and ‘energy drinks” along with their burger and fries I want to weep. When I see adults doing it I just get exasperated.

In the interest of time I have put together five quick things you can do today to improve your health and start taking control of your wellness.

1. Drink more water – ditch the soft drinks, juices and coffees.

2. Eat real food – if it didn’t start in the ground you probably shouldn’t eat it. Get organised and plan some fast meals from this blog to take the temptation for fast food and frozen dinners away. Keep it simple and keep it real. make extra so you can have leftovers on busy nights or take it to work for lunch the next day. Enjoy the process and the results and teach your kids to enjoy real food. It’s one of the most important things you will ever do for them.

3. Eat more fruit and veg – these guys are your friends – they are the quickest and easiest way to get the nutrients you need.

4. Eat whole grains – white foods like white rice, bleached flour etc have about 1/3 of the nutritional density of their wholegrain buddies. Get some brown rice happening – for extra nutrition try soaking it for a couple of hours or over night to make it super easy to digest and quicker to cook.

5. Go for a walk – or run, or swim, or to the gym, or dancing – whatever floats your boat. Break a sweat and feel better for it.

 

And finally, see your naturopath… I am here to help. No matter where your life or health is at there are always ways to feel better. No judgement, just good advice and encouragement.

One thought on “Making time for what’s important….

Leave a Reply

