Love, Georgie and Gratitude

 

So it’s Year 12 formal day for my middle child. Georgie is not your average kid, never has been, never will be. She is quirky, gorgeous, ridiculously funny, smart, sassy and thoroughly her own girl. Proud much ???

We headed down this morning to the hairdresser and on the morning of the big occasion Geo decides to cut off her hair. I don’t mean a little bit, I’m talking short, spiky, Natalie Portmanish. It’s a change from her usual manga comic style asymmetrical funkiness.  She was sitting next to another girl from her school who had chosen the long, curly up do with diamante head pieces. Still lovely and completely what she was looking for but I have to say the contrast was stark.

We stopped on the way home to pick up a couple of things. In the middle of the village Geo stops short with a look of panic on her face. “Oh my God Mum, I forgot to get my fake tan!” if you have never met my Georgie you will have to take my word for the dripping amounts of mirth and sarcasm. Orange is so her colour but not Oompa Loompa style thank goodness.

We headed home to what I thought was going to be an afternoon of preening but I was mistaken. Oh no, not with my Georgie, she has popped some Ella Fitzgerald on the stereo and has started whipping up a batch of biscuits. She said she felt like doing a bit of light baking. I warned her about the evils of eating on the eve of your formal – no, you may not fit into that skin tight dress you bought (joke!), she happily retorted that there was no chance of her not eating and cracked a joke about the best way to snag herself a husband. The biscuits are now in the oven and she is considering which episode of Star Wars to watch… so I guess that means the fake tan is a no go. I can’t help but think that she has a bit of Yoda and Padme going on.

I am so looking forward to seeing her slip into her home made dress, spike up her hair and head down the hill to dance the night away. I love the way she is so easy in her own skin.

Could I love this kid any more than I do ? the short answer is no, but I am sure going to try.

3 thoughts on “Love, Georgie and Gratitude

  1. Africanaussie September 18, 2012 / 1:56 am

    Oh what a lovely little story – the love shines through.

  2. My Life Is A Smorgasbord September 18, 2012 / 2:29 am

    She’s cut her hair!?!? I bet she still looks gorgeous and I can’t believe she’s going to her formal!! How exciting 🙂 Can’t wait to see her next week…

    • NaturoCath Naturopathy September 18, 2012 / 2:46 am

      It’s kind of amazing isn’t it. All my little ones are getting big.
      She looks fantastic. No doubt you will see photos soon
      Xxx

Leave a Reply

