The sun is out and it’s time to get planting.

Image

It’s been a very busy couple of weeks in my world but I have just spent a precious couple of hours in my garden and I feel so good now. Getting my hands into the earth is like a months worth of therapy. We don’t call the vege patch my ‘Happy Place” for nothing. I think it’s the combination of planting seeds, digging over and enriching the soil, feeding my chickens all the scraps then picking a big bowl of salad for lunch. For me it really doesn’t get much better.

We are currently picking around 30 different vegetables and herbs. I have just planted a couple of different varieties of zuchini, some cucumbers, red spring onions, rainbow chard, lots of herbs and a couple of tomato plants which I know I have put in too early but I just couldn’t resist.

My garden beds are so incredibly full and lush at the moment that I am getting creative with space. I have planted my zuchini and cucumbers straight into bags of mushroom compost. These plants take up lots of space so don’t rob yourself of vege bed space when you can have them doing their thing on the ground out of the way. They are also less likely to be attacked by rabbits, possums etc than other softer leaved plants which may need some extra protection from hungry wildlife.

I also weeded and mulched my crab apple tree. I planted some annuals beneath it and sent some love up to my Mum because it’s her tree and it has just put out some new season leaves in a little hello from her where ever she may be.

In a nod to my beautiful daughter Georgie I have also popped in some lavender and daisies – her favourites.

I like a garden that feeds your belly as well as your soul.

2 thoughts on “The sun is out and it’s time to get planting.

  1. Africanaussie September 13, 2012 / 5:10 am

    I also love to plant plants for loved ones who are far away. My daughter in New York is always sending me photos of flowers and saying “can you grow this?” Gardening is truly therapy

  2. Jeanette September 14, 2012 / 5:34 am

    Very nice ! Can’t wait t get into it !!!

Leave a Reply

