Getting your patch ready for spring

It’s the last day of winter and although it’s still cold here at our mountains home – the fire has been going all day and it’s windy outside my window – but I am thinking happy thoughts of spring planting.

This time of year makes me want to head outdoors and get elbow deep in mushroom compost. Lucky for me my beloved delivered 25 bags of compost to my vege patch and all my new plantings are nestled nicely in their mulchy blankets.

This is the time to get your garden in order. I love these seasonal changes. I am feeding the soil with homemade compost to replenish soils after a productive winter. Mulching is keeping weeds at bay, improving soil health, retaining moisture and keeping heat in. I am preparing beds for seeds and finding containers to raise seedlings. Yes I am a bit obsessed – it’s deeply satisfying and makes me very happy indeed.

If you want to get a bit more organised it can be helpful to keep an eye on what you planted where. By rotating crops and avoiding planting similar crops in the same place eg, leafy plants, brassicas, you drastically reduce the chance of pests and disease. By feeding the soil and rotating crops I have never needed to use sprays, pesticides, herbicides or fertilisers ever. Hooray.

If you are looking for a spring planting guide you can hardly go past Gardening Australia’s website ….

http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/vegieguide/

Happy gardening. It’s a lovely, productive, peaceful, nourishing act of political and social activism.

One thought on “Getting your patch ready for spring

  1. Little Sis August 31, 2012 / 1:13 pm

    I’m reading you from the other side of the world. It’s always nice to be reminded of the next season’s chores in the garden – helps me think ahead for once. 😉 Happy almost spring to you!

Leave a Reply

