A few of my favourite things…

Don’t be disappointed when I don’t start singing about raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens. I’m talking about eating well, living a good life, knowing what you need to know so you have the foundations for health and happiness. Anyone interested in living this kind of conscious life is sure to have stumbled upon some great resources in their travels. Here are a few of mine, I’d love to hear about yours. Let’s spread the joy people.

Here are some of my favourite things – recipe books, websites, places to eat and permaculture stuff to help you on your way.
I hope you come to like them as much as I do.

Recipe books

My favourite recipe book is the one I have at home, filled with my kids writing and covered in splatters of whatever ingredient happens to be required on that page. Seeing as it’s not really in a publishable state I thought I would share with you a few of my fav recipe books that have stood the test of time and provided us with inspiring, wholesome, human and animal friendly sustenance.  I’m a firm believer in sharing recipes so scroll back through this blog or look at my website http://www.naturocath.com.au for some tummy filling good stuff.

Here’s my Top 5 , in no particular order ……

Vegetarian   by Alice Hart

The Vegetarian Student Cookbook – perfect for quick, cheap yummy food

Commonsense Vegetarian – Murdoch press

Cooking with Kurma – Kurma Dasa

The Cooks Garden Companion – Stephanie Alexander – a lovely read and has the extra bonus of gardening and cooking info in one lovely big red book.

For kids there is a lovely book called Herb the Vegetarian Dragon and an accompanying recipe book. My  trio of gorgeous children think I indoctrinated them with this – one is now a vegan, one vego and one omnivore so maybe it had some effect after all !

Websites

The Naturopaths Kitchen      www.thenaturopathskitchen.net.au/-        healthy and inspiring recipes

Veggie Num Num – www.veggienumnum.com  – the name says it all

The Post Punk Kitchen – www.theppk.com/- great for vegans or those with intolerances or allergies and I guess I just love the sassy name too.

Milkwood Permaculture   –  http://milkwood.net/  – permaculture and good living on an inspiring scale. Nick and Kirsten have a permaculture farm in Mudgee and run courses on how to grow your own food, keep bees, grow mushrooms …definitely worth a look

Eden Seeds – www.edenseeds.com.au – suppliers of heirloom, non hybrid, honest to goodness seeds so you can grow real vegetables, fruit and herbs again. Hooray.

Organic Gardener Magazine – www.organicgardener.com.au/resources – a useful site for anyone interested in growing good food organically with tips about soil, composting and planting guides.

Places to eat

Bodhi  Restaurant and Bar, Sydney -www.bodhi.id.au/ – super yummy and vegan/vego .

Sushi on Stanley – Stanley St, Darlinghurst – this little hole in the wall restaurant has become one of our all time favourites – cheap, friendly and delicious food – what more can you ask for.

NaturoCath Naturopathy  
Tel : 02 45677104
Email : info@naturocath.com.au

Leave a Reply

