Mothers

Image

It has been 13 years today since I saw my mother. She died of cancer and the void that is left from her passing never goes away. She was at a time in her life when she was enjoying her grandchildren and living a more settled and happy existence. I still think of her most days and feel so sad that she has missed the chance to watch my children become the fantastic people they are and to see how happy I am. Isn’t that what most mothers want ? Just to see their kids and grandkids healthy and living good lives.

I once heard cancer described as the Big C with no answer. Thankfully things are changing and improving all the time and the diagnosis of cancer is not always the death sentence that it once was. Survival and cure rates are always increasing and new therapies are becoming available. Research into ways of avoiding developing cancer in the first place and new information about carcinogenic diets, lifestyles and exposure is more mainstream. I wish she had known about these things.

On this particular day I am sending out my hope for a cure and my blessings to anyone dealing with this horrible condition. I hope that you have found people to surround you with the support, information and the care that you need.

We owe it to all those people whose lives have been cut short to live ours in the best way we can. Eat well, take care of yourself, stay away from the nasties, smile a lot and be grateful for all that you have.

If you are lucky enough to still have your mother around take the time to let her know that you appreciate her.

Vale Mum.

Leave a Reply

