Courage

Image

I have just come home from the gym. Sometimes it can feel like a bit of a struggle to get there, especially when it’s cold and a nice cup of tea beckons, but I always feel better for going and know that it does my body and mind the world of good. Just for the record I am not a lean and mean gym bunny. I am a pretty normal looking 42 year old mother of three and I am doing my best to stay well and look after myself.

I was talking to the manager about a new program they are running ( and she gave me some cards which give you two weeks free unlimited gym access – come and see me if you would like one !) when a young woman, about 20 I think, came through the door looking down at her feet and mumbling about maybe, just maybe, coming to have a look around.

This girl was really overweight. I don’t mean to be unkind – I am just stating the facts. I would imagine she was in the 120kg range and she looked unhappy and really frightened. I have two daughters, 17 and 19, and a 14 year old son who have all been blessed with lean bodies, years of good nutritious food and a family who loves them no matter what. I kept looking at this young woman and thinking what a difference there was between her and my girls who are confident and blessed with wellness.

The gym manager was great – encouraging and welcoming. We ended up speaking to her together about how I could perhaps help her find a healthier way of eating and some supplements which might help her shift some weight.

I really hope she signed up – life is too short to spend it feeling unhealthy and underconfident.

It took a lot of courage for her to walk through the door and accept that it was time to do something about her health. We never know what has gotten someone to a point where their health and wellbeing is such a low priority. All we can do is offer some support and know that none of us are perfect.

If you’re ready to take control of your health and feel so much better call me 02 45677104.

One thought on “Courage

  1. Jeanette June 21, 2012 / 2:48 am

    Fabulous!!

Leave a Reply

